Knitting in 2009

While typing the post title, I mistyped 2009 as 2090, 2900, 82009, and several other numbers that clearly do not represent this year. I just thought you should know.

So I’ve vowed to improve my sewing skills this year, and I’ve been doing a lot of crochet and embroidery too, but that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten all about knitting. I would call it my first love, but actually I learned to crochet first, so that would be inaccurate. I definitely know more about knitting, though, and tend to use it for more complex stuff.

I’ve always wanted to follow through EZ’s Knitter’s Almanac, but so many of the things are for kids or babies, and we sadly don’t have any yet. (PS, Universe, get on the stick with that one s’il vous plait, thanks.) Plus I lose track of time, so I’d be unlikely to fit things into the month they were assigned. Because I love EZ and wish to at least be inspired, I thought I would pick 12 projects and goals for my knitting this year. Hey, at least it’s the same as the number of months.

  1. Briar Rose Bolero by Ysolda Teague. I adore so many of her designs, and I’d love to knit the Snow White sweater for myself someday, but I think I’d get more mileage out of the bolero. It’s just gorgeous, and? It would totally cover my hideous bingo-arm such that I can sew myself sleveless tops and actually wear them without wanting to hide in a cave.
  2. Stargazer by Sarah Wilson. I can’t link directly to the pattern, since it was on MagKnits (boo), but I really like this. I think it would be pretty great for warmer days, and that it would look cute with jeans and stuff. Wait, am I signing up for two adult-sized garments? Am I crazy?
  3. Clara Dress, as seen rather famously in the Soak ad. I’ve been carefully avoiding the acquisition of anything baby-related, because I thought it might prove to be a jinx or something. Since sixteen months of THAT strategy has failed to result in me becoming pregnant, I think I might try the opposite, and I would like to make something really nice for Future Baby. I love this dress, and I think it would look even better on a fat little baby. Future Baby, if you’re a boy, I’m sorry.
  4. Bayerische Socks by Eunny Jang. As much as I love handpainted yarn, I still really like solid color socks. But I hate knitting plain stockinette, so they have to be fancy. These are fancy. Mmmhm.
  5. Prairie Boots by cocoknits. These are to. die. for. I mean, look at them. It could be the fact that my toes are presently threatening to leave my body if I don’t warm them up NOW, but I think these are so cute. If they were leather, I’d wear them out all the time, because I am sick of being that person who wears Crocs. (Look. I broke my foot, and none of my other shoes fit after 4 hours of wear because the foot swells and… oh, fine, judge away. I probably would.) These will probably be my first project for myself this year.
  6. Some knitted jewelry. You know, with the wire and the beads. I haven’t quite found that perfect pattern yet, but I’m sure I will. It’s something I’ve never tried, and I like shiny objects like beads, so this should be just dandy when I get to it. If I can get some nice things going, I might like to add them to my Etsy shop.
  7. Bespoke Pillow by Cathy Carron. These are part of the House Cozyfication Project. Not Hugh Laurie House, although I would cozify with him anytime. I think these pillows would look splendid on the bed; one for me, one for my husband, and naturally one for each cat so they don’t get angry and destroy ours.
  8. A lace shawl of some sort. I have the Victorian Lace Today book, which is filled with lovely ideas. But every time I try to knit one, I somehow magnificently bork the counting and end up with… well, not lace. I don’t get it. Cables, I get. Lace still eludes me. Well, no more. Alpaca Cloud, this is the year you leave my stash and become a warm object.
  9. Celestine Sox. Is there any man, woman, or child who DOESN’T want a knitted dodecahedron? (Aside to Trolls: muhahahahaha.) I think not. One may not be enough.
  10. Christmas Gifts. To include stockings for myself and Zack, and Future Baby if we are lucky. Also, all the presents for everyone I might need to give a present to, because I am so not doing this “wait until November and then get all annoyed that I don’t have TIME to FINISH  my stuff QQ” because I procrastinate. No sir, not this year. I’m going to start… um… tomorrow? Maybe next week. I have ideas already.
  11. Items for sale via Etsy and craft fairs. Honestly, I had no idea I’d sell anything on Etsy as quickly as I did, and I wasn’t prepared for it. It takes about 8-10 hours to do a pair of mitts, so stocking the shop has been… well, it hasn’t really happened. I’d like to build a stock of items, particularly in time for the holidays. And also, I really want to participate in some craft fairs as a vendor. I think it would be fun. Maybe that’s because I’ve never done it, but the idea that people want my stuff is still just totally awesome.
  12. New hats, mittens/gloves, scarves, and socks for myself and Zack, and to donate. These are the kinds of basic needs I’d really like to fill with handmade items, plus they’re the sort of thing that can be donated to shelters and soldiers. There are so many patterns, I doubt I could ever get tired of making them. She says, now. Ask again in a year.

So there you have it. Let’s come back in a year and see how it’s worked out, hm? Oh, also, I reserve the right to totally change my mind tomorrow when I waste two hours looking at Ravelry so I “have something to do while I’m knitting.” Ravelry people, you are EVIL and I love you. Evil.

One thought on “Knitting in 2009

  1. That’s a great list. I don’t know what my knitting goals are. Well, yes I do. Finish this stupid sweater. After that, take over the world.

Leave a Reply

