Snowed In

I love winter, in theory. I would far rather be cold than be all hot and sweaty and gross; I love wearing sweaters and snuggling up under blankets. The idea of watching the snow fall outside while I sit and read my book and sip hot tea, with a cat curled up on my lap, is just perfect. Can’t leave the house? No problem; we’ll just sit here and play board games and build snowmen!

Of course, reality dictates that my husband has to drive to work on dangerously snowy roads, and that sometimes we have to go out for milk or cat food. If I had a better stockpile, the latter wouldn’t be a problem (and I’m hoping in 2009 to build our stores — but that’s another topic). And even in Michigan, which I think everyone believes is like the Frozen North, we’ve had 60 degree days that melt all the snow and leave us with sludgy mud. Oh, and all the grey snow piled up on the sides of the road.

We’re in the midst of a big snowstorm now; storm totals are supposed to be 8 to 11 inches. Zack can’t get to work, as apparently the city hasn’t bothered to plow any of the streets, at least not on this end of town. (We got a report from our neighbor, whose wife got stuck near the courthouse on one of the main drags.) And so for today I get to live in my little idealized winter world, safe and cozy in the (relatively) warm house while I watch the snow pile up outside.

I haven’t got much on my official to-do list today — just watering the indoor plants and planning the gardens for spring, which makes this all even better. I’ve got five pounds of ground beef, so I’ll have first Bolognese sauce and then chili simmering on the stove all day. I doubt that onion would make a popular air freshener scent, but to me it smells like home. I’m knitting myself a pair of Prairie Boots, and I can probably have them done sometime tonight. The bathroom sink needs a sink skirt, and I have the fabric and the Velcro fasteners to attach it, and it will be like having a whole new bathroom. And then there’s all the custom and shop knitting, crocheting, and drawing to be done. So I’ve got a guarantee of a productive day, without ever having to leave my house. I feel rather like a nearly-hibernating bear. Or a Hobbit.

And now I go to start my sleepy snow day, which I anticipate will be productive at a slow pace. I don’t think I could ask for anything better, today.

One thought on “Snowed In

  1. I love those prairie boots. So neat. Make sure you take pictures when you are done.

    I love the smell of cooking onions, too, so you’re not alone.

    I also love winter. I’m totally cool with bundling up with my blankets, but hate when it’s too hot.

Leave a Reply

