She’s Crafty

I’m sure this is about the 9000th blog post with that title. Sorry. I’m not feeling especially creative today. Ahem.

I am working on our 2008 taxes, which, while not exciting, sadly constitutes part of being an adult with an income (puny though said income may be). And my small business finances are a trainwreck. I figured, oh, I’ll just file everything in envelopes and add it up at the end of the year. Ha, ha. Let me tell you: Go get some accounting software, because paper receipt-keeping is a Bad Plan. I am battling a giant headache right now and I’m not nearly done.

But it reminded me that I want to treat my Etsy shop as a real business, because to me, it is. And that means… a business checking account. So I looked into that, and found that I need a certificate with the business name. And then I spent two hours on various Michigan web sites trying to figure out how the heck one obtains such a thing. So far I haven’t quite figured it out. I think I may have to actually use the phone and talk to someone  using my voice. Oh noes.

This hardly qualifies as a real update; I know that. I promise something more interesting soon. But right now, all I can see are forms and phone numbers and piles of receipts. I think that means it’s time to go print some stuff with the Gocco, or do some cross-stitch or something not at the computer.

3 thoughts on “She’s Crafty

  1. I feel your pain. I’m getting started on our taxes (business and personal, and then personal also for our business partner). We have Quickbooks, yet I still have about a thousand receipts to go through. Nothing ever gets entered. After last year, the first year we had the biz, I spent so much time I said I was going to make sure everything got filed every week.

    Yeah, right.

    Thanks, hubby and partner, for handing me a metric f*&kton of receipts Friday.

    Arrrrgggghhhhhh. So of course, while I should be going through receipts while the baby is asleep, I’m procrastinating.

    You don’t have a checklist for things like this, do ya? 😉

    • Once I’ve got mine in order, I’m sure I’ll have SOME kind of checklist. Ahem. Fortunately I’ve only got myself to worry about. If I had to get DH to give me receipts I’d uh… yeah. I don’t really know what I’d do. It wouldn’t involve being happy though, I know that.

  2. I just wanted to say that I clicked on your store link because I hadn’t been there for a while, and I love the banner that you have up right now. Also DH wants to know why you call yourself “binkin”.

Leave a Reply

