Menu Plan Monday

I really love planning. Oh yes. So I’m going to participate in Menu Plan Mondays, one of those great blog themes where lots of people all post about the same topic on the same day. I don’t know about you, but I enjoy seeing what other folks are doing. Everyday life fascinates me, especially when it’s someone else’s.

First, here’s a weekly menu plan printable you can use to make your refrigerator and/or home management binder just that much more stylish. You’re welcome! Sometime I’ll organize all the printables and add them to the sidebar, but now, with my slow laptop, is sadly not that time.

When I sat down to plan this week’s meals, things were a bit different than they are now. I’d already signed back up with Weight Watchers, which I sort of pshaw-ed for a few years; now that I’m doing it again, I remember why I liked it so much. It just works really well for me. So I tried to plan with that in mind. But today, I had a slew of doctors’ appointments. One of the end results was that I’m meant to try an anti-inflammatory diet, which will involve some fairly radical changes in how I eat. But since the groceries were all bought and the freezer already stocked, this week I will settle for simply recording what I eat and observing what the patterns seem to be. Starting next week, you’ll probably see less wheat and potatoes (sigh) and more whole grains, legumes, and fish. I’m happy about the fish. My husband probably is not.

So what are we eating this week?

Monday

  • Breakfast: SoyJoy bars, good when running out the door in a hurry; also, they were free at CVS a few weeks ago, so.
  • Lunch: Out (all those appointments!)
  • Dinner: Meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and corn (from the freezer).

Tuesday

  • Breakfast: 100% whole wheat toast with low fat cream cheese, raisins, and sunflower seeds.
  • Lunch: Ham and cheese sandwiches; salad.
  • Dinner: Spaghetti! and garlic toast, salad, and green beans. I don’t know why green beans go with spaghetti. You just have to accept that they do.

Wednesday

  • Breakfast: Burritos!
  • Lunch: Bean soup (from a dried mix we have)
  • Dinner: Lasagna, salad, and more garlic bread.

Thursday

  • Breakfast: Toast/cream cheese/fruit/nut bread breakfast, like Tuesday’s.
  • Lunch: Cioppino. Mmm. I’ll post about this later in the week — it makes a great freezer meal.
  • Dinner: Lentils and quinoa with onions, aka mujadarah only sans the rice.

Friday

  • Breakfast: Burritos.
  • Lunch: Lasagna leftovers.
  • Dinner: Chili and cornbread (from the freezer).

Saturday

  • Breakfast: Toast stuff. You  know what I mean by now, right?
  • Lunch: Hummus, pita, and vegetables of some sort.
  • Dinner: Korean-style beef with rice, kimchi, mushrooms, and onions.

Sunday

  • Breakfast: Dutch Baby pancake — I love these; I’ll share a recipe soon.
  • Lunch: Super Bowl coverage and hot spinach dip and potato skins.
  • Dinner: Watching the Steelers win the Super Bowl, bbq sausages (I KNOW), and buffalo chicken sandwiches.

And now you know exactly how much crap we eat! Workin’ on it, though.

2 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

Leave a Reply

