Menu Plan Monday

Or Tuesday, as the case may be. Yesterday was filled with doctors’ appointments and shopping for kitty stuff (meow!) so I didn’t quite get around to posting this. The menu this week is a little strange and pretty interesting, at least for me. I visited with a naturopathic doctor and nutritionist a couple of weeks ago to talk about fertility issues and all the other concerns I have, foremost among them the horrible allergies that make me miserable pretty much year round. She recommended an anti-inflammatory diet, which I’m really willing to give a fair shot. It will be tricky, though; I mean, no tomatoes? Really?

So this week’s menu is the beginning of this diet, for me. You’ll notice (if you are familiar with this type of diet) a few items that don’t strictly fit in, but I think it’s a heck of a start, considering. I’ll probably report in occasionally on how it makes me feel and whether I think my overall health is improving. After a very disappointing cycle including a chemical pregnancy, I have decided to simply focus on my health and allowing my creative self to put its energy elsewhere for a while, so this is one step in that plan.

Tuesday

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal with almonds
  • Lunch: Spelt bread, smoked salmon, spinach leaves, capers, onions, horseradish. Plums!
  • Dinner: Brown rice. Shrimp in masala curry sauce (thanks, Trader Joe’s). Green beans, salad. Plums.

Wednesday

  • Breakfast: Curry leftovers
  • Lunch: Smoked salmon on spelt bread again. Good thing I like it! More plums!
  • Dinner: Brown rice. Beef, mushrooms, onions, fried egg, fern brakes in a bibimbap-esque dish of yumminess. Kochujang, sauteed greens, and kimchi. Aaand another plum.

Thursday

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal with almonds and a plum.
  • Lunch: Leftover bibimbap.
  • Dinner: Chicken marsala with mushrooms. Roasted cauliflower, sauteed greens. Fruit for dessert.

Friday

  • Breakfast: Smoked salmon sandwich, as above.
  • Lunch: Leftover chicken marsala and fruit.
  • Dinner: Sauteed cabbage, onions. Lentils and quinoa. Possibly sauteed Dover sole. Lots of spices probably to involve cumin and cilantro. More fruit!

Saturday, Valentine’s Day

  • Breakfast: Smoked salmon sandwich again!
  • Lunch: Leftovers from Friday’s mess of a dinner.
  • Dinner: Frisee salad with dried cherries, pecans, Stitchelton blue, cider vinaigrette. Seared lamb chops with olive, caper, and parsley relish. Roasted potatoes with anchovy and lemon. Sauteed greens with garlic. Burnt sugar ice cream with chocolate-dipped pecan tuiles.

Sunday

  • Breakfast: Eggs, toast, smoked salmon (again?)
  • Lunch: Salad greens with seared salmon, olive, caper, parsley relish, lemon vinaigrette. Possibly also bacon.
  • Dinner: Chile-roasted beef. Mashed cauliflower, roasted green beans. Fruit.

Obviously the Valentine’s day dinner doesn’t exactly qualify as anti-inflammatory, but it could be much, much worse, I’m sure you’ll agree. I can try to share recipes and photos, if (as I hope to do) I remember to take pictures of any of it.

3 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

Leave a Reply

