Mushroom Sandwiches and Menu Plan Monday

Because, if I’m not mistaken, you all want to know what I’m going to be eating. Right? Right. I’m once again trying to follow Weight Watchers, but am totally failing at the anti-inflammatory diet. It was too much for me to keep up, and so I’m taking a small break and then will work my way back to eating like a… I don’t know, like a Greenosaurus Rex or whatever. For now I will content myself with cooking dinner at home every night, and not having fast food, and remaining within my points values for a given day. If I get all my fruit and veggie servings in, so much the better. It’s the time of year when I want to eat lettuce and fruit, so that helps.

Here’s the menu for this week; dinners only. Leftovers for lunch, and generally I have smoked salmon, spelt toast, and fruit for breakfast.

  • Monday: Chicken korma, basmati rice, green beans, salad, raita.
  • Tuesday: Ham, au gratin potatoes, more green beans, salad.
  • Wednesday: BBQ chicken salad with corn, black beans, and chipotle ranch dressing. Maybe cheese if I’m feeling craaaaazy.
  • Thursday: Meatloaf, baked potatoes, mixed vegetables, salad.
  • Friday: Mushroom sandwiches* and… yes, salad.
  • Saturday: Chili-roasted pork, corn tortillas, pinto beans, grilled onions and peppers.
  • Sunday: Leftover party day! which will probably involve making Leftover Soup, and eating more salad.

* Let’s talk about mushroom sandwiches. I do not mean the possibly-construable-as-healthy grilled mushroom masquerading as meat kind. I mean the ones that are served at the May Market in Pittsburgh, for which you wait in line for an hour. This recipe is from the Woodland Garden Club, circa 1958, so you can imagine the general lack of concessions made to healthful eating. These are so. good. and for me they are a herald of spring. Now I just need some fondant-covered strawberries and a half a lemon with a mint stick. Sarcastic commentary in recipe below is courtesy of me, not the lovely women of the 1958 Woodland Garden Club.

Mushroom Sandwiches — Six of Them

  • 1lb. button mushrooms, chopped fine
  • 1T onion, minced
  • 2T butter
  • 2T cream
  • pinch of salt
  • dash of paprika (smoked Spanish is neat for this, or sweet Hungarian)
  • 12 slices of sandwich bread (Pepperidge Farm’s white sandwich bread is great for this; it is of optimal crumb and thickness if you ask me)

If you feel lazy, you can chop the onion and mushrooms in the food processor, although then you have to wash the thing, which is kind of a bother. Melt the butter in a medium saute pan, over a medium sort of heat, and saute the onions. You want them to take on a nice golden brown color. Add the mushrooms and saute another minute, then add the cream, salt, and paprika. Cook for about two minutes, until it thickens up and the mushrooms look toothsome.

Normally at this point I try to let the mixture cool, as it thickens up and is easier to use, but also normally I cannot wait to eat my sandwich so I just deal with the sloppiness for the first one and then make the rest later. Butter your bread slices (inside and out, if you’re living on the edge), fill with the mushroom mixture, and grill them in a pan in the same way you make grilled cheese.

Ideally you would eat these while walking around outdoors, but I understand if you just chow on it while standing at the counter. I’m not sure I’ve ever put one on a plate. That might be pushing things.

One thought on “Mushroom Sandwiches and Menu Plan Monday

Leave a Reply

