Tuesday is for Tile Trivets

Tiles and Tiles

Tiles and Tiles

Because I said so, that’s why. (I don’t have kids, and saying that to cats has no effect.) I mentioned some tile trivets I made a few years ago, and a friend encouraged me to take some pictures and share them, so I did. And then I thought, you know, that was a lot of fun. I should do some more tiling. So I’m looking into where to buy tiles, tile cutters, grout, and other exciting things, with plans to cover the top of the ugly water-stained end table. The sad part is that tile mosaics aren’t really my “style” as such, so I may not enjoy the end result as much as someone else might. But whatever. The process is purest joy: Tactile sensation (cool smooth tile, rough unglazed backs, like running your hands through the bag of Scrabble tiles) and OCD sorting and placement. Really, I don’t know what more I could ask for in a craft.

So here’s the less exciting of the two trivets, which I never actually use; I think of them as pieces of table art, mostly because the frames are really shoddy and they would probably fall to bits if I actually set something on them.

Sand and Sky

Sand and Sky

And the other, which I am still unreasonably proud of. Note the colors to indicate ground vs. sky. Also note that, when I made these, I had no access to a tile cutter and only a limited selection of tiles, so getting this result was quite an achievement.

Tree-vet

Tree-vet

Leave a Reply

