Yarn-stravaganza, Part Le 2ème

I really don’t know what’s with the French kick lately. No idea. Let us resume where we left off in the Tour de Yarn, though, and try not to worry about it. Ah, but before we embark, I should note that my lovely blog readers get 15% off in my ArtFire shop, binky-bird. Just mention Little Birdhouse and I will send you a refund of the 15% via PayPal!

Blue Sky Alpaca in Sapphire

Blue Sky Alpaca in Sapphire

Blue Sky Alpaca Silk in Sapphire. We arrive now at my very favorite of the yarns to cross my threshold in the past, well, ever, probably. This is for a custom pair of mitts, and so is not mine, and so I cannot give in to the desire to rub it all over my face while purring. But knitting with it is (almost) enough. It’s actually quite a bit more teal and saturated than it appears in the photo; I was kind of lazy about white balance and subsequent color correction. This yarn is my introduction to Blue Sky, and I have to say that my yarn wishlist now consists of about 10 of every color of the Alpaca Silk, because it is yummy and buttery and gorgeous and amazing. Did I mention I love this yarn? I love it. It’s a little splitsville when I knit with it but not so bad as to take away from its other glories.

Ella Rae Bamboo Silk in Baby Olivine

Ella Rae Bamboo Silk in Baby Olivine

Ella Rae Bamboo Silk in Baby Olivine. This is destined to become a second pair of mitts for the person who’s getting the Blue Sky pair. This yarn is also delicious and yummy and I am really excited to be working with bamboo. It seems to have an excellent drape and the hand is just so soft. The color is not quite so yellow as this, but it’s definitely a springy spring green. What pattern will I use? It is a mystery. First I should finish one of my eleventy-seven OTHER projects, right?

Gedifra Tiago in Spring Green

Gedifra Tiago in Spring Green

Gedifra Tiago in Spring Green. Which actually to me is less spring green than the Baby Olivine, but I didn’t name it. Destined to become what I hope will be a nice, light, summery Clapotis, for the mitts-person above. It’s got that crunchy airy quality that just screams “warm weather knitting” so I’ll save this for those days when it’s over 80F. What’s that you say? It’s already over 80F? In Michigan? In April? My goodness.

Laines du Nord Royal Cashmere in Spearmint

Laines du Nord Royal Cashmere in Spearmint

Laines du Nord Royal Cashmere in Spearmint. This is just really lovely, really soft yarn in a really lovely, really soft color. I am even willing to forgive the atrocious choice of typeface (ARE YOU LISTENING TO ME LAINES DU NORD? ARE YOU?) because it’s so nice. There isn’t much in the way of yardage; it was gifted to me, by above mitts-person, and I think I’m going to make a nice buttoning “neck-warmer,” which I refer to more as a “very short scarf, with buttons.” Mmm.

Berocco Ultra Fine Alpaca in Pea Soup Mix

Berocco Ultra Fine Alpaca in Pea Soup Mix

Berocco Ultra Fine Alpaca in Pea Soup Mix. More green! I love green. This may be a self-defense mechanism implemented after attending The Ellis School for four years, but I think I liked green even before that. I’ve got four (FOUR!) skeins of this, which is soft and slightly fuzzy, and I think it will make beauteous socks. But since I have so much, perhaps I should make a shawl, instead? Hm. Another gift. I am blessed by yarn.

I feel certain you’ve been wondering about the Acid Absinthe socks I’m making, so please find below a photograph of their current status, which is to say, “They’re on stitch holders right now.”

Acid Absinthe Socks in Handmaiden Casbah, Masala

Acid Absinthe Socks in Handmaiden Casbah, Masala

One thought on “Yarn-stravaganza, Part Le 2ème

Leave a Reply

