Vietnamese-Spiced Steak

I’d been looking forward to tonight’s dinner for a while. Sadly, it turned out not so great; the beef we used tasted off to me, so I’m having Jimmy John’s instead, which makes me want to cry. I mean, I love Jimmy John’s, but this was supposed to be awesome. The spice blend, though, was pretty good, and I’ll actually probably put the rest of it on some popcorn. It originally called for fresh ginger and garlic but I felt lazy. It would make really good spiced nuts, too.

  • 1.5T brown sugar
  • 2t paprika
  • 2t coriander, ground (seed)
  • 2t minced garlic
  • 1t crushed red pepper
  • 1t salt
  • 2t ground ginger

The recipe also uses the technique of slashing the surface of the meat, to maximize contact with the rub. If you haven’t tried it give it a shot next time — just lightly score the cooking sides with a sharp knife. It makes a difference in the final product when you’re doing a quick rub and, with a thicker cut of meat, also when you’re doing a rub that stands overnight.

2 thoughts on “Vietnamese-Spiced Steak

Leave a Reply

