A New Birdhouse

I know this blog has been neglected for, oh, months and months, and I do apologize. I go through phases with blogging; sometimes, I’m convinced everyone must really want to know about my dinner, and sometimes I think really nobody must care.

At any rate, I am now living in Pittsburgh again, thank God. I’ve got a real job for the first time in years, and I just moved into a new place this month. It was built in 1930, and it’s got some fabulous Arts and Crafts stuff going on. Everything needs a little TLC, but it could be potentially the most awesome place ever… if I can keep myself on track.

I’ve been reading other blogs, and embarking on fruitless searches for window coverings I actually want to pay for, sheets that don’t clash, and ways to organize the kitchen. I think I may be blogging again, here, so that you all can see the transformation as the house takes shape. Also, I have my own kitchen again, which means more cooking.

So, if anyone’s out there: What would you do first? I’ve got a bedroom, a giant living room, a kitchen and a bathroom to make my own. I did manage to score a sweet comforter at Target (Liberty of London for, etc.) so I can at least base the bedroom around that, but otherwise I’m kind of at a loss. Curtains ought to be the first priority, so the neighbors don’t have to witness me, half-dressed, drying my hair to get ready for work. What would you do first?

3 thoughts on “A New Birdhouse

  1. I’m so happy for you to be back in PGH!!!

    I’ve been living in my place for 3 years now, and I still don’t have curtains. I hate the blinds, but I don’t want to put out the money for blackout curtains. What’s a cheap girl to do????

  2. You’re back!!! Yay! I have lost the interest to blog as well, although I might start keeping up my fitness blog again. Can’t wait to see all the crafty stuff you will do to your new home!! I’d start w/curtains too. What about Ikea?

  3. I’ve been thinking of checking Ikea this weekend. I may end up just getting some muslin and putting nice fabric on the bottom because I cannot find exactly what I want.

Leave a Reply

